Pages

Saturday, January 21, 2012

Paychecks Don't Grow on Trees Either

Well, the boys got their first check last weekend. They were all excited when we started calling them into the room one by one. We presented each of them with their stub and a paper check. We explained the check stub to them and how they could earn extra money and lose money. We also spoke about how their income was very private.

Phil and I had talked about the privacy issue before hand because they were getting different rates and didn't want an uproar. They seemed to take that part pretty well. Probably because we said they'd get a deduction for not following rules. (Wellllllll, we had to have some recourse.)

We took them to the bank and opened up accounts. They were thrilled up until they found out that $10 of their income would be put on hold until the cards came in. HAHAHA.... Reality bites. Phil and I allowed them to have $5.00 cash. We again gave them schpeel about how once the money was gone it was gone.

This is how the rest of the afternoon went:

10 minutes after leaving the bank we stopped at a convenience store...do you see where this is going?

C's money was completely wiped out.

E2 and E1 decided to pull their money. *face palm* Oh boy! I had to discourage that. Then E2 tells E1 that he'll buy E1's things for him so that E1 won't have to spend his money.

Ummmmm...Nope!! I had to stop that and then made a mental note to tell Phil that we needed to talk about charity and generosity to our six year old. But at this point, I could just see his money being spent and then jealousy arising later.

The boys finally decided on their things. E1 walked out with $1.70 and E2 walked out with $3.60.

Sunday:

This is where it starts getting fun!

E1: "Can we go to McDonald's?"
Me: "Sure. Are you buying?"
E1: (glares at me)
Me: "Well, we aren't planning on eating out right now. We have lunch here. I'll drive you but you don't even have enough for a happy meal."
E1: "Never mind."

Later:
C: "Mom, my X-Box Live ran out. Can we renew?"
Me: "You have an allowance. Save for it."
C: (walks off)

The best part they are keeping up with their chores. We've had to remind them a few times and they got their deductions. But it didn't take long for them to get the picture.

Phil has been witness to all of the fun and admits that this is one of the best ideas I've had so far. We are loving it! It's well worth the money we are giving them and it's saving us a ton of money!!

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Little Money Savers

Phil and I are on a mission:

1. Get several new computers (2 desktops and 2 laptops)
2. Get our dream home

To accomplish this we're making several changes in out home. We've already begun cutting back on the eating out. Check out my first attempt at conservation. Now to reign in the kids.

I came up with the idea after we were called "cheap" by one of the precious angels after Christmas. Nevermind that we spent a good amount of money keeping them entertained during the break. They just didn't seem satisfied. We just kept hearing the dreadful, "Can I have...?" Inevitably followed by the "look".

I sat down with Phil and said that we were putting them on the payroll. Now, I'm a big believer in real world experiences so my idea is that they get bi-weekly paychecks that include withholdings. He was intrigued with the idea.

This is what I came up with:

* 25% straight into savings
* overtime earnings for extra chores (amount depends on chores)
* bonuses for grades
* other deductions (dependent upon infraction)

They will also receive a paycheck stub:




I checked with our bank USAA and they have a great youth banking program. We have control with the kids. But what we liked the most was the Mastercard pre-paid debit card. This is fantastic because the boys would actually be able to use their own card to do the spending of their allowance!!!

HA! We got these little money suckers!!! We are determined to teach them the value of the dollar if it kills us.

They get this first check tomorrow let's see how it goes.

Sunday, January 8, 2012

The Quick Meals

Satuday night, Phil and I went out to eat after going to get all the ingredients for our freezer meals. We had dinner plans that had been scheduled earlier in the week and didn't want to reschedule. This is the meal that we used our Groupon. So it wasn't like we were spending more money. When we got home at 8, we decided to brave the kitchen and put together some meals. I call these the quick meals, because we were done by 9:30 with everything including clean up.


Upper Left: Country Ribs/Shoulder Steaks- we covered them in bar-b-que sauce (Simple)

Upper Right: Pot Roast - I put in a cup water mixed in with 2 cubes of beef bullion, along with diced carrots, onions, potatos, bell peppers (red, yellow, orange) and my spices (garlic, salt and pepper--I'm a simple gal.)

Lower Left: Phil did that bag. I know it's shoulder steak with his special marinade. If it's good...I'll press him for the recipe. If not, well...

Lower Right: Chicken and Calabasa. It's diced chicken breast, yellow squash, 1/2 cup chicken stock, 1 can mild rotel (drained), 2 handfuls of brown rice, ground comino (cumin), garlic powder, diced onions, bell peppers, salt, and pepper.

To cook them:

The ones on the left: I'm going to defrost and put them in the oven to bake at 350 for 30 minutes and serve with side dishes.

The ones on the right: These are my crockpot meals. I plan on defrosting them for 30 minutes either on the counter (as suggested by others) or in the microwave depending on my time availibility and then slow cook for 8 hours while I'm at work.

Our First Attempt at Convenience

I was browsing Pinterest (My latest addiction.) looking for crock meals for the freezer at the recommendation of a co-worker. I came across the: mamaandbabylove blog for freezer meals. That was it! I was hooked on the idea of making my own convenience meals.

The thing was I wanted meals that my family was used to eating. We are Mexican and I couldn't find anything that was available for that kind of food. I decided that I needed to adapt my own recipes for the freezer. I called my mom and away I went!

Now I admit this first thing I tried isn't Mexican at all. It is something I was eating while I was searching for recipes. I was staring at the monitor scooping oatmeal from Chick-fil-A into my mouth. I looked down and thought "Hmmmm...I bet I could make my own instant oatmeal cups."

This is the attempt:


Notice I had Mexican Vanilla in the picture. Can you figure out the problem with that? Give up? Well, when I was putting the ingredients together I realized that ... DUH!!! I can't put liquid into the dry ingredients and store in the pantry!! What a goof! I'll have to add that when I actually make it.



Looks pretty doesn't it?

Layered:

1 cup Quick Cooking Oatmeal
1/3 Cup Dry Milk
1 Tsp Splenda Brown Sugar
Sprinkled Cinnamon 'til it looked pretty to me
Box of Raisins
Walnuts



Top View

Final Product:

After doing this I figured out that I was going to have to add 1 3/4 cup water to this and microwave for 1 1/2 - 2 minutes.

Phil came into the kitchen about this time and sat down at the table. He looked at it and said they looked good and then asked about the liquid. He pointed out that the container was too small. I defended my creation because I didn't want to admit that he might be right. Then he questioned me about the amount of dry milk I put into it. I told him that I only wanted the equivalent of 1 cup of milk in my oatmeal and the rest water. He read the box directions on the oatmeal and said that it asked for water. I said that I wanted to substitute milk, hence the dry milk. If he didn't want milk, I could make some without dry milk. He said that was okay.

That was yesterday.  This morning, I tried out my creation.

  • I used my hot water maker to put liquid in and the nuked for 45 sec in hopes it wouldn't throw up in there. It did. (Damn it.)
  • I had to add 3 Splenda packs. (I like it sweet.)
  • I forgot to add my Mexican Vanilla.

Things I learned. 1/2 the recipe for the bowl size and add 3 packs of Splenda to mine.


Update: 22-Jan-2012

I finally mastered this:

1/2 cup quick cooking oatmeal (the kind that cooks in 1 minute). Surprisingly the wal-mart brand is better than Quaker Oats... go figure.

2 Tblsp of dry milk
2 Tblsp of raisins or other dried fruit
2 Tblsp of walnuts or nuts of choice
3 splenda packs

When ready to cook--add 1 cup of boiling water. I have one of those pitchers that boils the water. I found it at Target for about $20.00. It's nice and was so worth the investment.

I use the small bowls still because I don't put it in the microwave. I seriously don't have the time. I add the water, close the bowl and finish getting ready for work. I usually toss it in my lunch box and eat it at work while I'm checking emails in the morning. By the time I start doing that it's a nice temperature and cooked to perfection!

No More Eating Out

Phil and I are on a new mission this year to stop eating out so much. We came to this decision after we decided to itemize what we spend our money on each month because we wanted to get new computers. Since October he has been dreaming about a new computer. He scans this one website periodically practically drooling over the towers, telling me how fast they are and how much memory they have. Although, he uses the proper terms. All I hear is "speed...memory..". To me, all I want is a computer that works. Our current computers run like Forrest Gump. I think that says enough about them.

Anyway, I have been keeping track of what we've been spending. So far this month, we are above $200. Yes, I know, we're not off to a good start. But hey! We have good intentions.

After, I saw that number I started looking at last month. It was well over $1500. I almost keeled over. I slinked into the bedroom and sat on the bed. He was watching T.V. He looked over at me and asked what was wrong.

Me: "You know that computer you wanted? We ate it."
Him: (strange look) "What do you mean?"
Me: "We spent over $1500 last month eating out and we're up to $200+ this month."
Him: (shocked look) "That's crazy!"
Me: "I know. You know those freezer meals for the crock pot? They're not so looking so bad after all."
Him: "I agree."
Me: "No more eating out."

(We went out last night, but in our defense we had a Groupon for Red Robin so it was money we already spent. We couldn't let good money go to waste. Right?)

Friday, January 6, 2012

La Vida Loca

It's late on first Friday of 2012. I'm exhausted. I'm sitting here thinking that age is definitely creeping up on me. I think that whoever said "age is just a number" is obviously someone that is much younger than me. Ugh!

One of my New Year's Resolution's was to begin writing again. I've started several times over the past few years. Each attempted ended in...what my son would say... an epic fail. This time, I did a little research on how I wanted to get this accomplished and Voila!

BEHOLD! The wonders of "The Busy Working Mom" Blog!  Insert *oooooo and aaaaaahhhhhhhhh* here

Good Night People